Smiley face

Only 1 Day Left To File Candidacy For May 2 Sulphur Springs, Yantis Elections

Smiley face

Only one day remains in the filing period for candidacy in the Sulphur Springs City Council and Board of Trustees elections as well as Yantis ISD Board of Trustees Election. The deadline is the close of business Friday.

Sulphur Springs City Council

City of Sulphur Springs

Of the six places on Sulphur Springs City Council to be determined on May 2, only two are contested. To file for a place on the ballot, Sulphur Springs residents should see City Secretary/Elections Officer Gale Roberts 201 North Davis St. and get their applications by the 5 p.m. deadline Feb. 14.

Candidates include:

Place 1 — Justin M.Brown and Jay W. Julian 

Place 2 — Harold Nash Sr.

Place 3 — Oscar Aguilar

Place 5 — Ricardo Chavarro and Gary Spraggins

Place 6 — Doug Moore (incumbent)

Place 7 — John A. Sellers (incumbent)

Sulphur Springs ISD Board of Trustees


As of Thursday, incumbents Robert Cody and Robbin Vaughn are the only candidates who have filed for a place on the May 2 Sulphur Springs ISD Board of Trustees ballot.

Candidate filing for the two full-term seats on Sulphur Springs Independent School District Board of Trustees will conclude at 4:15 p.m. Feb. 14. Applications are available in SSISD Tax Office, located in the SSISD Administration Building, 631 Connally St.

Yantis ISD

Incumbent Melissa Stephens and Teresa Starrett were the only candidates reported to have signed up for Yantis ISD Board of Trustees.

Candidate filing for two full 3-year seats on Yantis ISD’s Board of Trustees will conclude at 4 p.m. Feb. 14, in Yantis Middle School Building in the Administration Office, 111 South Main St.

Author: Faith Huffman

Share This Post On