Aguilar Files For Place 3 On Sulphur Springs City Council

As of lunch Wednesday, only three people have filed candidacy for the six places to be determined in the May 2 Sulphur Springs City Council Election.

Oscar Aguilar

Oscar Aguilar had filed candidacy for Place 3 on the City Council late Wednesday morning. Oscar served on the City Council from 2006-2018, when Norman Sanders defeated him in his bid for reelection 685 votes to 509 votes.

Sanders was among four council members to resign from their seats on City Council in December. Erica Armstrong, Jimmy Lucas and newly elected Jeff Sanderson resigned as well, placing those seats on the ballot for election in addition to the places which would normally be up for election.

John Sellers

Incumbent John A. Sellers, whose term on the board ends this spring, is seeking reelection to Place 7 on the City Council. He filed paper work for candidacy on the May 2 ballot on Jan. 15, the first day of filing. Sellers is completing his third term on the council, and has served several terms as and in December was selected to again serve as mayor. He has been marketing director for City National Bank of Sulphur Springs since 2006.

Doug Moore

Incumbent Doug Moore also is seeking reelection to the City Council. He filed candidacy Jan. 17 for Place 6 the May 2 Sulphur Springs City Council ballot. Moore, a retired businessman, was elected in May 2019 to finish the last year of Dan Froneberger’s term on the council, which expires this spring. Moore was appointed to serve in Place 6 until the May 2019 election following Froneberger’s resignation midway through his term.

Candidate filing for the unexpired terms for Places 1-3 and Place 5, and full terms for Places 6-7 on the May 2 Sulphur Springs City Council ballot continues from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays through Feb. 14, at City Hall, 201 North Davis St. Residents should see City Secretary Gale Roberts for an application packet.

Sulphur Springs City Hall, 201 North Davis St.

Author: KSST Contributor

Share This Post On