Sulphur Springs City Council Approves Appointments to 11 Boards and Commissions

In addition to swearing in four councilmen, Sulphur Springs City Council approved appointments to 11 boards and commissions, selected which councilmen will serve as mayor and mayor pro tem during Tuesday evening’s regular council meeting.

City Council Re-Organization

After an election in November for four places on the council, then a runoff in December for Place 1, all four councilmen elected to the City Council in 2020 again filed for reelection to their seats this spring. They drew no opponents for their places so the city was able to cancel the City Council Election that was scheduled to be held in May.

City Secretary Gale Roberts, who also serves as the city’s election officer, administered the oath of office June 1, 2021, to Place 1 Councilman Jay Julian, Place 2 Councilman Harold Nash Sr., Place 3 Councilman Oscar Aguilar and Place 5 Councilman Gary Spraggins. All except Spraggins are elected to a full three-year term on the City Council. Spraggins will serve another year of an unexpired term, then will be eligible to seek reelection.

Mayor John Sellers noted that Mayor Pro Tem Freddie Taylor has serve 17 years on the City Council and is beginning his 18th year. Tuesday was the service anniversary for Taylor, who was first sworn in on June 1, 2004, Roberts noted. Place 6 Councilman Doug Moore was nominated and selected to serve a term as mayor pro tem, able to step in if the mayor goes on vacation, is ill or otherwise unable to attend any council meetings or city functions.

John Sellers was nominated to serve another term as mayor. Sellers agreed to the nomination and was unanimously approved to serve another term as mayor.

Spraggins noted that after this year, Sellers will have been mayor for 6 years, which will be one more than other previous council members, as far as current elected officials can tell.

Sellers said serving as mayor of Sulphur Springs, the city where he grew up and returned to more than 20 years ago after college and a brief period working elsewhere, is a privilege and honor.

Sellers expressed appreciation to the men willing to step up and serve as City Council members, especially over the last 1 1/2year.

“It was a difficult year. There was a lot of difficult things. We had to make some hard decisions during that year. I could not have done anything that I’ve done without this council that I have behind me. We started out with not a full council that first of last year, and we were able to add as the year and got back up to seven members, and they’ve been so much help to me.”

The mayor also publicly acknowledged City Secretary Gale Roberts for her steadfast dedication and assistance, always there to help and advise. During the difficult times, she has “always made it go forward.” Sellers also acknowledged City Manager Marc Maxwell as an “absolute partner for me and for this Council.”

Nash also noted that former Sulphur Springs councilman and mayor Valanderous Bell passed away over the weekend. Sellers noted the Council sends their sympathies to Bell’s family. Maxwell reported that services for Bell are scheduled for 1 p.m. Saturday, June 5, at League Street Church of Christ, 1100 South League St.

Interment will follow the service at Restlawn Memorial Park for Bell. Visitation is scheduled from 6 to 8 p.m. Friday, June 4, 2021, at West Oaks Funeral Home.

Boards and Commissions

The City Council also approved as recommended appointments 11 different board and commissions. A few have been appointed to replace individuals who have resigned due to moves or other commitments, but most are individuals who have agreed to continue serving on the various groups. They include:

  1. Economic Development
    • Doug Moore
  2. Zoning Board Of Adjustment
    • Twyla Gill
    • Kevin Mohl
    • Kyle Robinson
    • Alternates:
      • Janet Martin
      • James Litzler
  3. Airport Advisory Board
    • Dr. Charles Jones
    • David Baucom
  4. Sulphur River Municipal Water District
    • Bob Russell
  5. Library Board
    • Carol Gee
    • Michelle Mcgill Ivery
  6. Board Of Tourism And Promotion
    • Don Fausett
    • Meredith Caddell
    • Adam Teer
  7. Construction Board Of Adjustment And Appeals
    • Bobby Harris
    • John Cooper
    • Jeff Redding
  8. Planning And Zoning Commission
    • Chuck Sickles
    • Tommy Harrison
  9. Ark-Tex Council Of Governments
    • John Sellers
    • Gary Spraggins
    • Harold Nash Sr.
  10. Downtown Revitalization Board
    • Mike Elliott
    • Tyler Law
  11. Revolving Loan Fund Committee
    • Jeff Fisher
    • Jay W. Julian
    • Freddie Taylor
    • John Sellers
    • Marc Maxwell

Author: Faith Huffman

Share This Post On