Smiley face

Candidate Filing Deadline Nears For May 2 City, School District Elections

Smiley face

Those planning to file candidacy in local municipal and school board elections in Sulphur Springs, Cumby and Yantis have just one week left to do so, as filing in regular May 2 elections ends on Feb. 14.

Sulphur Springs City Council

As of last reporting, the Sulphur Springs City Council Election was the only May 2 election in which a contested race had developed.

While there are six places up for election on the ballot, two regular term seats and four unexpired terms, Place 1 is the only one with more than one candidate filing as of Friday, Feb. 7.

The list of candidates who had filed for a place on the May 2 Sulphur Springs City Council Election ballot includes:

City of Sulphur Springs

Places 1, 2, 3 and 5 are for the unexpected terms of council members who resigned in December. Places 6 and 7 were regularly slated to be on the May 2 ballot; both are for a full term on the council.

Candidate filing for Places 1-3 seats and Place 5-7 on the May 2 Sulphur Springs City Council Election ballot continues from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays through Feb. 14, at City Hall, 201 North Davis St. Residents should see City Secretary Gale Roberts for an application packet.

Cumby City Council

At last reporting, only two candidates had file for two seats up for election on Cumby City Council.

Audri Mayo filed candidacy for alderman Place 2 on the council. Sheryl Lackey has filed candidacy for Place 1 on the council.

Alderman Place 1 became open when Doug Simmerman was elected mayor in November. The Place 2 seat opened with the resignation of Kristin Thompson last fall. The council on Sept. 21 appointed Audri Mayo to the Place 2 council vacancy. The council had planned to rescind that appointment at the October meeting, but Mayo resigned first.

Candidates filing for both places on the ballot is ongoing.

The Cumby City Council members will be asked at the Feb. 11 meeting to approve two resolutions amending the previous October resolutions extending the filing deadline from Valentine’s Day to March 3, as required for special elections.

Applications may be picked up from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays at Cumby City Hall, 100 East Main St. Applications may also be downloaded from the Secretary of State’s website, completed, notarized and mailed to the Cumby City Hall by the deadline, according to city staff.

Sulphur Springs ISD Board of Trustees


Both Cody and Vaughn filed candidacy on the first day of filing and have drawn no challengers as of this week. Each is seeking a third term on the board.

Only two candidates were reported to have filed for a place on the May 2 Sulphur Springs Independent School District Board of Trustees Election ballot. There are only two places up for election, those held by incumbents Robert Cody and Robbin Vaughn.

However, candidate filing for a place on the ballot for two full-term seats on Sulphur Springs Independent School District Board of Trustees will be conducted from 8 a.m. to 4:15 p.m. weekdays, Jan. 15-Feb. 14. Applications are available in SSISD Tax Office, located in the SSISD Administration Building, 631 Connally St.

Yantis ISD Board of Trustees

Only two candidates had sign up to run in the May 2 Yantis Independent School District Board of Trustees Election as of last reporting. Melissa Stephens and Jennifer McKeever currently serve in those seats.

Incumbent Melissa Stephens has filed, as has Teresa Starrett.  

Candidate filing for two full 3-year seats on Yantis ISD’s Board of Trustees will be conducted from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays, Jan. 15-Feb. 14, in Yantis Middle School Building in the Administration Office, 111 South Main St.

Smiley face

Author: Faith Huffman

Share This Post On