Smiley face

Early Voting Begins Today In City Council, School Board Elections

Smiley face

Early voting by person appearance began at 8 this morning for Sulphur Springs City Council, Como-Pickton Consolidated Independent School District Board of Trustees and Yantis ISD Board of Trustees elections.

City Council

Voters in Sulphur Springs will have six choices, two per seat, for three place on the City Council. Candidates are incumbent Freddie Taylor and challenger Reiko Alexander for Place 4, incumbent Emily Glass and challenger Jeff Sanderson for Place 5, and incumbent (appointed) Doug Moore and Landon Thornton for Place 6.

Early voting will be conducted weekdays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. April 22-April 30, with the exception of April 23 and April 25. As is the case for Election Day, May 4, ballots may be cast from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday, April 23, and Thursday, April 25. All voting in the city council election will be conducted in the conference room on the second floor of City Hall.

Como-Pickton CISD

Residents within Como-Pickton CISD may cast ballots early by personal appearance in the board of trustees election from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. April 22-April 30, with voting extended from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Monday, April 22 and Thursday, April 25, in the Como-Pickton CISD Administration Office.

On Election Day, May 4, voting in the C-P CISD school board election will be conducted from 7 a.m. To 7 p.m. in Room 114 at Como-Pickton School (in front of building where the general election was held).

Voters will be asked to choose from seven candidates for four full-term at-risk seats on the school board. Candidates include incumbents JJ Cummings and D.J.Carr, and challengers Brittney Smith, Felecia Smith, James “Jim” Murray, Lee Skidmore and Shane Wilton.

Shiloh Childress is unopposed for the unexpired term of Greg Anglin, who resigned at the end of 2018, after being elected county commissioner for Precinct 2. Childress was appointed to serve through the election and is unopposed for the unexpired term seat on the board. Thus, Childress will serve the remaining length of Anglin’s term on the school board.

Yantis ISD

In Yantis, voters will be asked to choose two of the three candidates for Yantis ISD Board of Trustees. Candidates include incumbent April Johnson and challengers Jennifer Larkin and Jeff Quinn.

Voters may cast ballots early by personal appearance from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Mondays, April 22 and April 29; and from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Thursday-Friday, April 23-26, and April 30, in the Early Voting Room inside Wood County Courthouse, 100 South Main St. in Quitman. Election Day voting will be conducted from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Saturday, May 4, in Yantis Elementary School foyer.

Smiley face

Author: Faith Huffman

Share This Post On