North Hopkins ISD Inducts More Than 30 Students Into New Elementary Beta Club

North Hopkins ISD inducted more than 30 students into the district’s newest organization, the Elementary Beta Club, Thursday evening, Sept. 15, 2022.

“Junior and Senior BETA have already been running two very successful programs for years so we are expanding to offer the opportunity to students in grades 4-6. Students being inducted had to meet minimum grade requirements, have good attendance and a good discipline record,” North Hopkins Elementary Principal Kodi Wright noted.

Beta Club, an organization founded by Wofford College’s Dr. John W. Harris in 1934, is made up of more than 445,000 active members in more than 9,600 clubs nationally and internationally. Beta’s mission is to promote the ideals of academic achievement, character, service and leadership among elementary and secondary school students. Beta helps to develop a community of leaders who positively impact the world.

The Beta motto is “let us lead by serving others.” Members pledge to strive to be honest and truthful at all time to maintain creditable academic scholastic records, be of service to teachers and fellowmen, conduct themselves in an ethical and moral manner to be a credit to their school and community.

Thursday evening, students and their selected family members were given a table in the elementary cafeteria to enjoy a taco salad meal provided by the culinary students, and served by older Beta Club members. Each students’ table was personalize with their photo on it.

Danny James gave the opening prayer, then the program got under way with Junior Beta State President Major Steele from Wolfe City welcoming the NHE students into the organization and providing a little bit of information about Junior Beta.

The sixth grade inductees recited the Beta Creed, each offering information about the eight different character traits of Beta Club members. Aidee Cortez recited information about honesty, Easton Mathis service, Cash Phillips responsibility, Charley Weatheread humility, Jett Jordan justice, Camden Nichols cooperation, Gracelyn Schuur industriousness and Pinzley Wells charity. Recitation of the Beta Pledge was lead by Megan Rodriguez.

When each inductee’s name was called, the student signed their names into the official Beta record book, the very first group of elementary students to do so at NHISD, then received a certificate acknowledging them for meeting all qualifications which allowed each to be inducted into Beta Club.

Fourth grade members of NHE Beta Club include Lillie Burnett, Laken Callihan, Jentri Dodd, Benton Dufreene, Jadee Jennings, Gage Jordan, Caleb Matlock, Alylah Nunez and Tessa Robinson.

Fifth grade members include Fatima Banuelos, Lila Bettes, Mattie Boles, Wyatt Brantley, Kendall Erwin, Jemma Jennings, Rylan Joslin, Axell Leon, Kayden Lilley, Baileigh Marlowe, Axel Perez and Caden Wright.

Sixth grade members include Aidee Cortez, Jaycie Hale, Danny James, Jett Jordan, Easton Mathis, Cash Phillips, Megan Rodriguez, Gracelyn Schuur, Charley Weatheread and Pinzley Wells.

NHE Beta sponsors are Carmen Dufrene, Star Erwin and Kodi Wright.

Sixth grade member Jaycie Hale closed the induction ceremony with prayer.

North Hopkins Elementary Beta Club inductees with sponsors Carmen Dufrene and Star Erwin, and Junior Beta State President Major Steele of Wolfe City, Sept. 15, 2022, North Hopkins Elementary Cafeteria

Author: KSST Contributor

Share This Post On