Smiley face

Cumby Seniors Recognized With Scholarships, Certifications

Cumby High School 2022 seniors were recognized for attaining certifications and degrees. Collectively, the Senior Class of 2022 received $95,255.34 in scholarships during an awards program Thursday evening, May 12, 2022, in the new gymnasium.

Six CHS seniors were recognized for completing all of the requirements to graduate with associates degrees from Paris Junior College Friday. Damian Cota earned an associate of interdisciplinary studies, Casey Elmore an associates in interdisciplinary studies, Logan Krodle an associate of science in accounting business management, Savannah Kurn an associate of applied science in education and Emily McJohnston an associate in interdisciplinary studies.

OSHA graduates, those students completing the 30 hours of training required for thee certification, included Andrea “Andi” Atchley, Jaden Basham, Braylon Boggs, Summer Coker, Ryan Davis, Jailyn Dixon, Taner Edwards, Jackson Evans, Caylor Hoops, Hudson Hornsby, Azlyn Hornsy, Cassidy Jimenez, Jon Johnson, Lane McCraw, Jazmin Mojica, Michael Neel, Montgomery Owens, Jarred Patterson, Josh Snyder, Kera Turner, Cristian Vizcaya and Beaux Williams, as well as Aelyn Fuentes-Arevalo, Stoney Gall, Joseph Jarvis, Blake Petty, Kathryn Sells, Ashlynn Sims and Constance Smith.

Smiley face

Matthew Whittle and Savannah Kurn also received educational aide certification.

Juliana Osornio presented two Arsenio Ugalde II Memorial Scholarships in the amount of $1,000 to Casey Elmore and Jimena Enriquez. The award is given each year in memory of Osornio’s little brother, a 2013 Cumby High School graduate who died at age 20. Arsenio Ugalde was a private first class in the U.S. Army, serving in field artillery while stationed in Washington. The award in past years was funded annually through a Stars and Stripes 5K Color Run. Orsornio thanked all of the seniors who applied, noting that it’s always a pleasure to read all of the essays submitted. She noted that selecting the two recipients each time is very hard as all are deserving.

Fred and Ann Moseley had the pleasure of presenting a scholarship for each of their granddaughters. They awarded a $1,000 Four M Scholarship Thursday evening at the awards program to granddaughter Cordelia Moseley. Mrs. Moseley noted Cordie, their son’s Davy’s daughter, has grown greatly in the last several years, and they are very proud of her for working so hard to achieve her potential in her classes, cheerleading and socialization.

Receiving $250 PTO Scholarships were Fabian Camargo, Damian Cota and Jimena Enriquez.

Ryan Horne awarded four Cumby Trojans Athletic Booster Club Scholarships in the amount of $500 to Casey Elmore, Savannah Kurn, Fabian Camargo and Logan Krodle.

Cumby Tel awarded three $1,000 scholarships to Jimena Enriquez, Logan Krodle and Damian Cota.

Robert Cash awarded a $1,000 scholarship from Hopkins Masonic Lodge to Fabian Camargo. He also presented Mistie Colfax with a Lamar Medal, an award given to a hard-working teacher.

Emily McJohnston received a Fry Scholarship in the amount of $22,805.34 renewed annually.

Matthew Wheat received a $7,000 University of North Texas Excellence Scholarship that can be renewed annually and a $3,000 UNT Merit Scholarship.

Logan Krodle received a $24,000 National Merit Recognition Scholarship and a $1,500 Texas A&M University tuition support award.

Annalyse Drake was awarded a $15,000 out of state tuition award from the University of Arkansas.

Jimena Enriquez was awarded an $8,000 University of Texas at Tyler Academic Excellence Scholarship.

Cassidy Jimenez received a $1,500 Peace Officer’s Angels Foundation Scholarship.

Casey Elmore and Damian Cota each received a $1,000 Blue and Gold Tier 2 Scholarship from Texas A&M University-Commerce that can be renewed annually.

Author: KSST Contributor

Share This Post On