Smiley face

Sulphur Springs City Council Dec. 13 Meeting Convened

Smiley face

Sulphur Springs City Council was able to reach a quorum Friday, allowing the city board to proceed with the special noon board meeting and routine city business. In attendance was Norman Sanders, Freddie Taylor, John Sellers, and Doug Moore.

Quorum Achieved

The council session was called after Mayor Norman Sanders submitted his notice of resignation from the council last week, and Mayor Pro Tem Erica Armstrong, and Council members Jimmy Lucas and Jeff Sanderson submitted their resignations Monday morning, noting they were to be effective immediately.

With four members of the council submitting notices of resignation for office, a special meeting was called to appoint a new member and consider taking action on the resignations submitted Monday. However, a quorum of four members was needed to proceed with the meeting. That required one of the resigning council members to be present at the meeting to establish a quorum.

Continue to check back and refresh this story for the latest information.

Updated Information follows:

The meeting was called to order by Norman Sanders at 12:01pm. The resignations for Erica Armstrong, Jeff Sanderson, and Jimmy Lucas were accepted. Reverend Harold Nash was appointed and sworn in as council member for Place 2.

Harold Nash Swearing In

John Sellers is appointed as mayor. Freddie Taylor is appointed as mayor pro tem.

Norman Sanders tells KSST News the city has some important things coming up — Pacific Park and the new senior center. He did not want them to fall through the cracks. He attended today to ensure a quorum was present so that the council can continue business so that doesn’t happen.

Sulphur Springs City Hall, 201 North Davis Street

Author: Faith Huffman

Share This Post On