Smiley face

Voting Hours Extended Thursday in Sulphur Springs General, Special Elections

Smiley face

The hours of early voting in the Sulphur Springs General and Special Elections are extended Thursday, April 25, starting at 7 a.m. and ending at 7 p.m.

Early voting by personal appearance will then resume from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. April 26, 29 and 30. Election Day voting will be conducted from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Saturday, May 4. All voting in the Sulphur Springs City Council and proposition elections will be conducted in the conference room on the second floor of City Hall.

On the first day of early voting 32 votes had been cast. There were 37 on Tuesday, when extended hours were also offered.

Voters in Sulphur Springs will have six choices, two per seat, for three places on the City Council. Candidates are incumbent Freddie Taylor and challenger Reiko Alexander for Place 4, incumbent Emily Glass and challenger Jeff Sanderson for Place 5, and incumbent (appointed) Doug Moore and Landon Thornton for Place 6. The latter seat on the council if for the remaining year of an unexpired term.

Also on the ballot are Propositions A-M, which ask voters to consider amending the Sulphur Springs Home Rule Charter.

Proposition topics include City Council meetings, passage of ordinances and resolutions, municipal election dates and procedures, the city manager, finance department, city budget, depository, emergency appropriations, taxation, annual audit, franchises, non-substantive revisions and charter review.

Smiley face

Author: Faith Huffman

Share This Post On