Smiley face

Filing for Area School Board May 6th Election Continues

Here’s a look at school board elections in the area through Wednesday February 1. Final day to file for the May 6th election is February 17th.

With three positions up for election this year, Mt Vernon ISD currently has two packets returned of the ten packets requested for filing for the May 6th school board election. Millisa Dunvavant and Brook Bussell have filed.

Those seats that will be open are currently held by Board Vice President Steve Asay, Secretary Allison Rios, and board member Marie Latortue. Of the three seats, only Asay has picked up a packet but is yet to file.

For School Board in Sulphur Springs, both incumbents, Robbin Vaughn and Robert Cody, filed for re-election on the first day available. No others have filed at this time. Mrs. Vaughn was elected to the Board in 2014.  She is the current Vice President of the board. Robert Cody was elected to the Board in 2014 and is board secretary.

For Como-Pickton School Board, incumbents Jim Murray, Greg Anglin, and Mark Humphrey have filed for re-election. Also filing are Jessica Pegues and Brittney Wright Smith. Como-Pickton has entered the search for a new Superintendent.

At Yantis, Jennifer McKeever, April Johnson and Melissa Stephens have filed.

Filing dates for the May 6th election continue through February 17.

Author: Staff Reporter

Share This Post On