Early Voting Ends Friday In Democratic, Republican Party Primary Runoffs Elections

Friday will be the last day to cast an early ballot in person in the Democratic and Republican Party Primary Runoffs, with Election Day following on Tuesday, May 24, 2022.

Hopkins County residents may still vote early by personal appearance from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Thursday-Friday, May 16-20, in the Hopkins County Justice of the Peace 2 Courtroom, 128G Jefferson Street, Sulphur Springs in either the Democratic or Republican Primary Runoff.

Early voting in the Republican and Democratic Party Primary Runoff Elections will be conducted in Hopkins County Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace’s Courtroom at 128G Jefferson St. in Sulphur Springs from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. May 16-20, 2022.

As of Wednesday, May 18, 2022, a total of 70 had voted in the Democratic Party Primary Runoff in Hopkins County. Twenty county residents had voted in-person and the remaining 50 by mail. that’s only 0.29% of the total number of registered voters in Hopkins County determining which Democratic candidates will make it on the ballot in November in four state races, according to the data submitted by county election officials to Texas Secretary of State’s Office.

Smiley face

More Republicans have cast ballots in the primary runoff to determine the candidate in three state races. A total of 274 ballots had been cast as of Wednesday, May 18, 2022, in Hopkins County in the Republican Party Runoff, 210 in person and 64 by mail. That’s still only 1.12% of the total number of registered voters in Hopkins county casting ballots in primary runoffs as of the close of the polling location May 18, according to the data reported to the Secretary of State.

Election Day Voting

On Election Day, voting in the primary runoffs has been consolidated to six voting centers. Voters may cast ballots in either the Republican or Democratic runoffs from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday, May 24 at any of the following six voting locations:

  • Lutheran Church (Front Foyer), 1000 Texas Street Sulphur Springs, TX 75482;
  • H.W. Grays Building (Meeting Room), 411 Beckham Street Sulphur Springs, TX 75482;
  • Hopkins County Courthouse, (1st Floor Courtroom), 114 Church Street Sulphur Springs, TX 75482;
  • Grace Family Church (Fellowship Hall), 2201 Loop 101 East Sulphur Springs, TX 75482;
  • Hopkins County Civic Center (West Hall), 1200 Houston Street Sulphur Springs, TX 75482;
  • League Street Church of Christ (Front Foyer), 1100 South League Street Sulphur Springs, TX 75482

Tuesday, May 24, at 7 p.m. is also the deadline for a mail ballot to be received, if the carrier envelope is not postmarked, or Wednesday, May 25, 2022, at 5 p.m. if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7 p.m. at the location of the election on Election Day (unless overseas or military voter deadlines apply.)

Democratic Runoff

Democrats will be asked to vote for their choice in four different state races.

  • On the Democratic ballot for Lieutenant Governor are Mike Collier and Michelle Beckley.
  • Democrats too will decide between Rochelle Mercedes Garza or Joe Jaworski as their candidate for Attorney Genera.
  • Seeking the Democratic nomination for the office of Comptroller of Public Accounts are Janet T. Dudding and Angel Luis Vega.
  • Democrats Jay Kleberg and Sandragrace Martinez are vying for the Democratic nomination for Commissioner of the General Land Office.
Democratic Party Primary Runoff May 24, 2022 sample ballot

Republican Runoff

Republicans will be asked to vote for their choice in three different state races.

  • Vying for the Republican Party nomination for Attorney General are Ken Paxton and George P. Bush.
  • Republicans Dawn Buckingham and Tim Westley are in a runoff for the party nomination for Commissioner of the General Land Office.
  • Sarah Stogner and Wayne Christian are the two Republican candidates for Railroad Commissioner.
May 24, 2022 Republican Party Primary Runoff sample ballot

Who Is Eligible To Vote?

Only Hopkins County voters registered to vote on April 25 are eligible to cast a ballot at a county polling location. Voters may cast ballots in only one of these elections, and will be declaring themselves as either a Democrat or Republican by voting in that election.

Texas Secretary of State John Scott reminds voters that under Texas law, voters who cast a ballot in either party’s primary election may vote again, but must vote in the same party’s primary runoff election. Voters who did not cast a ballot in the March 1st Primary Elections may vote in either party’s Primary Runoff Election.

“The candidates you will be voting on have made it to the final round of their parties’ primary elections, and this is your chance to decide who you want to compete for those public offices in November. Make sure to do your research on the candidates, make an informed decision, and prepare to make your voice heard in the runoff elections by visiting VoteTexas.gov!” Secretary Scott said in a news release.

The winner of each election will then face the top candidate from the other parties on the Uniform Election ballot on Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2022.

Voter ID Requirements

When voters arrive at the polling place, each will be asked to present one of the seven acceptable forms of photo identification, which are:

  • Texas Driver License issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)
  • Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS
  • Texas Personal Identification Card issued by DPS
  • Texas Handgun License issued by DPS
  • United States Military Identification Card containing the person’s photograph
  • United States Citizenship Certificate containing the person’s photograph
  • United States Passport (book or card)

For voters aged 18-69, the acceptable form of photo ID can be expired up to four years. For voters aged 70 or older, the acceptable form of photo identification may be expired for any length of time.

If a registered voter does not possess and cannot reasonably obtain one of the seven approved forms of photo ID, that individual may fill out a Reasonable Impediment Declaration (RID) (PDF) at the polls and present an alternative form of ID, such as a utility bill, bank statement, government check, or voter registration certificate.

Author: KSST Contributor

Share This Post On