Saltillo Seniors Awarded More Than $101,000 In Scholarships

Employee Of The Year, Athletic And Academic Standouts Also Recognized by Saltillo ISD

Saltillo seniors were awarded more than $101,000 in scholarships during this week’s awards program in the school gym. That’s 15 of the 18 students in the Saltillo High School Senior Class of 2021 receiving scholarships. In addition to scholarships, students earning academic and athletic honors this year, and the Saltillo ISD Employee of the Year also were recognized during the awards program held Tuesday evening, May 25, in the school gym.

The largest single scholarship announced Tuesday was a $52,000 Merit Scholarship awarded to 2021 SHS salutatorian Garrett Tarver by Oklahoma University.

The next largest amount was a $32,000 Mary Bonham Educational Trust awarded to Brittney Peeples to help her fulfill her goal of attaining a college education.

Bianca Castro was awarded a $5,000 scholarship given by former teacher Barbra Conley Norris.

An Eagle Award Scholarship of $6,000 per semester was presented to Ally Smith.

Chandler Bain and Anna Reeder each received a $2,850 Finis and Onree Attlesey and Garland and Sweet Gamblin scholarship.

A Blue and Gold Freshman Tier 1 Scholarship in the amount of $2,000 was awarded to Kristina Wade.

Levi Rippy was awarded a $1,000 City National Bank Scholarship.

Receiving a $250 PTO/Booster Club Scholarship were Ofelia Cabrera, Chandler Bain, Kristina Wade, Christian Boekhorst, Anna Reeder, Brittney Peeples, Garrett Tarver, Bianca Castro, Josey Bench, Maddy Smith and Ally Smith.

Receiving $200 FCCLA Scholarships were Kristina Wade, Garrett Tarver, Maddy Smith, Bianca Castro, Paisley Kastner, Anna Reeder and Brittney Peeples.

Northeast Texas Community College awarded a $200 Texas Counselor and Principal’s Scholarship to Paisley Kastner.

The Mount Vernon Masonic Lodge presented Mirabeau B. Lamar Awards to Daniel Gonzales, Paisley Kastner and Ally Smith.

Senator Bob Hall sent certificates congratulating each senior on their achievements.

Tim Lane was presented with the Saltillo ISD Employee of the Year Award. He noted that there are a whole bunch of employees at the school who are as deserving of recognition.

Also recognized at the awards program were cross country, basketball, softball and baseball teams’ and individuals’ achievements, FCCLA and Beta winners and competitors, UIL participants and competitors, student who had perfect attendance, who made the A and AB Honor Rolls.

The FCCLA students typically as one of their projects bake cookies for Lake Country CASA to use as a fundraiser. Although there was no Cookie Walk in 2020, the FCCLA members insisted on fundraising to help CASA. Working together the students raised $1,500 to donate to CASA, Chapter Advisor Johnna West noted.

They also participated in the state contest virtually this year. Some participated in new tests this year, studying the material only to learn like half the material was not on the test.

Also, Saltillo FCCLA members typically fund raise selling chocolates and coffee. This year, because of how hands on that was, the students revised their plans, offering popcorn and Pot Tarts to raise funds for scholarships. Students can apply for funding. There are seven students who will be able to apply for the $200 award, by turning in a receipt upon completion of their first semester of post-secondary education.

Saltillo students also competed in February in virtual Beta competitions, which was a little bit more difficult with all competing in a number of different areas. There were many creative students in the group, and seven are advancing to the national contest to be hosted in Orlando in June.

Saltillo ISD students did well in academic UIL competitions at the district level. Two students advanced past the regional contest to state.

Anna Reeder and Garrett Tarver were recognized as the valedictorian and salutatorian of the Saltillo High School Senior Class of 2021. They, along with the 16 other Saltillo seniors will be honored during a commencement ceremony at 7 p.m. Friday, May 28, 2021, in the gym.

Author: KSST Contributor

Share This Post On