SSISD Trustees Approve 10 Personnel Items

Following an executive session, SSISD Board of Trustees Monday night approved professional employment contracts and approved 10 personnel items. Overall, the board accepted one notice of retirement and four resignations, approved two new hires and three job swaps which will impact five campuses.

Kenya Singleton notified the district of her planned retirement as special programs/testing coordinator at Sulphur Springs Middle School. The board accepted Elliott Ayo’s letter of resignation as assistant band director and approved Crysta Hooker to serve as nurse at SSMS.

Amy Peters will be moving from the fifth grade special education classroom at Sulphur Springs Elementary to the special education classroom at SSMS. Fifth grade teacher Angie Evans will give up her classroom at SSES to become the district-wide dyslexia therapist for SSISD.

Also swapping job will be Hannah Garrett. She’s moving from Sulphur Springs High School, where she teaches science, to the SSISD Administration Building to serve as district science coordinator.

Ira Franklin will be leaving SSHS too. Franklin’s resignation as physical education teacher and coach was accepted. Jamie Ladd will join the SSHS staff as a counselor.

Lamar Primary counselor Tye Boatman and library aide Vivian Mejia Mendez round out the list of individuals whose letters of resignation were accepted Monday.

Trustees approved 2021-22 professional employment contract for teachers, counselors, librarians and nurses following the executive session.

These personnel items followed a brief conference, during the April 12, 2021 executive session, in which trustees consulted with “legal counsel, as necessary, to address commercial or financial information that the District received regarding Bright Arrow Solar, LLC, with which Sulphur Springs ISD is conducting economic development negotiations.”

SSISD logo

Author: KSST Contributor

Share This Post On