Smiley face

Sulphur Springs ISD Celebrates School Board Recognition Month This January

Smiley face

Sulphur Springs – The Sulphur Springs ISD joins 1,024 school districts throughout Texas to celebrate January as School Board Recognition Month, according to SSISD Superintendent Michael Lamb.

SSISD school board
Sulphur Springs Independent School District Board of Trustees (front row, left) President Robert Cody, Robbin Vaughn, Secretary Jason Dietze, (back row) John Prickette, Leesa Toliver, Vice President Craig Roberts and Kerry Wright

“Our school board members are volunteers who shoulder critical responsibilities and often make difficult choices for our district, all without pay. Their goal is always focused on the future success of the children in our district,” Lamb said. “Celebrating School Board Recognition Month is one way to say thanks for all they do.”

Serving as a link between the community and classroom, school board members are elected to establish the policies that provide the framework for public schools. The SSISD board is responsible for an annual budget, 4,300+ students, 710 employees, and 9 campuses.

Board members currently serving SSISD are: Robert Cody, President (7 years); Craig Roberts, Vice President (2 years); Jason Dietze, Secretary (12 years); John Prickette (9 ½ years), Leesa Toliver (8 years), Robbin Vaughn (7 years), and Kerry Wright (11 ½ years).

“It’s more important than ever before that communities support public education so that today’s students are prepared to be productive citizens and the leaders of tomorrow. Please take a moment and tell school board members ‘thanks for caring about our children and giving so much to our community.’ Let them know we support them and that their dedicated service is recognized and truly appreciated,” Lamb said.

SSISD board members will be formally recognized at a special board meeting to be held on Monday, January 25, 2021.

School Board Recognition Month 2021

Author: Faith Huffman

Share This Post On