Smiley face

Geoffrey Stewart Awarded Janie Crump Memorial 4-H Scholarship

Bessonett, Allen Receive Danforth ‘I Dare You’ Award; Civic Center Manager Recognized For Support Of 4-H, Extension

Hopkins County Extension Agents Johanna Hicks and Mario Villarino during Hopkins County Commissioners Court Monday morning recognized five youth Monday morning for their outstanding achievements and contributions to 4-H and honored one local supporter of 4-H and Extension programs. One students received the Janie Crump Memorial Scholarship.

“We’ve really had the privilege of watching each these 4-Hers grow up. They’ve really come through this with COVID things with a blaze of glory,” Hicks said.

Janie Crump Scholarship

Geoffrey Stewart, Johanna Hicks

Geoffrey Stewart, son of Stephanie Stewart, was awarded the Janie Crump Memorial 4-H Scholarship.

This award is given in honor of the Crump, who served as Hopkins County AgriLife Extension Agent for home economics until her retirement in 2001. She was also a member and supporter of the Pilot Club, 4-H, Junior Waverly and Rotary, and the Chamber of Commerce, where she received the Woman of the Year Award. Crump, 68, passed away Tuesday, April 7, 2015, at her Sulphur Springs residence. The Janie Crump Memorial 4-H Scholarship awarded to qualified 4-H applicants who have excelled in 4-H.

Geoffrey Steward, a 2020 North Hopkins High School graduate, was very active in 4-H Shooting Sports. He served on the Hopkins County 4-H Council as an officer. He was also active in the multi-county 4-H camp as a teen leader and exhibited his expertise in archery at Heritage Park during special events.

Danforth “I Dare You” Awards

Danforth “I Dare You” Leadership Awards recipients include Jorja Bessonett and Savannah Allen.

This leadership awards recognizes “young people who have demonstrated unusual integrity, balanced personal development, and a willingness to assume responsibility.” The “I Dare You” Award was first offered in 1941 by business man and philanthropist William H. Dansforth, who dared young people to achieve their highest potential and to influence others through lives of service.

Bessonett is the daughter of Bill and Cherrie Bessonett. Savannah Allen is the daughter of Sara Allen. These families have a long history of involvement in 4-H. Cherrie Bessonett and Sara Allen grew up in the Hopkins County 4-H program.

4-H Record Book Judging

Jorja Bessonett, Rylie Carroll, Ethan George

Hopkins County 4-H members Jorja Bessonett, Rylie Carroll and Ethan George recently qualified for District 4-H Record Book Judging.

This contest provides valuable skills that can be used later in life for such tasks as college admission applications, job applications and organization. The record book includes several sections: a 4-H story and photo portfolio, 4-H project experiences summary for main projects, 4-H leadership experiences, 4-H community service, other 4-H projects, 4-H recognition and awards received, non-4-H activities such as school and church, college and career exploration. Throughout the process, Hicks explained, the 4-H members learn to keep a calendar of activities and expenses/income, if any are applicable pertaining to their projects.

In the intermediate division, which features students in grades 6-8, Rylie Carroll was the district champion in consumer education and Ethan George was the district health and person safety champion.

Bessonett placed fourth in senior division health and safety. This division includes students in grades 9-12.

4-H Extension Supporter

The Texas AgriLife Extension Agents also Aug. 10 asked to present the 2020 Hopkins County 4-H Extension Supporter of the year. Dr. Mario Villarino recognized Lonnie Fox, general manager for Hopkins County Civic Center, for his continued support of Hopkins County 4-H, Extension and many other community programs throughout the county.

Lonnie Fox, Mario Villarino, (back) Hopkins County Commissioners Court

Author: KSST Contributor

Share This Post On