Smiley face

Saltillo and Sulphur Bluff Are Represented on District 24-A All-District Basketball Team

The District Champion Saltillo Lady Lions earned two superlatives and had nine players chosen on the District 24-A All-District Basketball Team selected by the district’s coaches. Lady Lions Chandler Bain and Anna Reeder were named co-MVPs. Senior Jocelyn Ochoa was chosen as the district’s Offensive MVP. Lady Lions selected First Team All-District were Brittney Peeples and Maddy Smith. Lady Lions making the Second Team All-District were Kristina Wade, Allie Lane, Julianna Giles and Paisley Kastner. Lady Lions Coach Bill Giles was named Coach of the Year. He noted the Lady Lions were 10-0 in district play and were 31-8 for the season and were a Regional Quarterfinalist. Coach Giles said Ochoa will graduate but he said everyone else is returning along with an outstanding 8th grade class. He said Ochoa had a tremendous four years at Saltillo High School, on and off the court.

The Sulphur Bluff Lady Bears earned a superlative and had five players on the District 24-A All-District Team. Lady Bear Skylar Stanley was named Newcomer of the Year. Ann Dorner and Jada Wade were First Team All District selections. Dalena di Donato and Angel Brown were chosen Second Team All-District.


Author: Matt Janson

Share This Post On