Smiley face

Candidate Filing For City Council, School Elections Begins Jan. 15

Smiley face

Candidate filing for places on the May 2 city and school election ballots begins Wednesday. The cities of Cumby and Sulphur Springs are planning for council elections, while Sulphur Springs and Yantis school districts will hold trustees elections.

Sulphur Springs City Council

Candidates may file for one of six places on the May 2 Sulphur Springs City Council ballot.

The city was scheduled to have a regular election for two places on the ballot this year, those for Places 6 and 7 currently held by John Sellers and Doug Moore. Sellers is completing a full term. Moore was first appointed to fill the seat of Dan Fronberger, who resigned, until the May 2019 election; he was then elected by voters to serve the remaining 1 year of Froneberger’s term on the city council.

The resignations of Erica Armstrong, Jimmy Lucas, Norman Sanders and Jeff Sanderson last month necessitate a special election to fill unexpired term seats for Places 1-3 and Place 5 as well. The Rev. Harold Nash was appointed Dec. 13 to serve as Place 2 councilman until the May 2020 election.

Candidate filing for Places on the Sulphur Springs City Council will be conducted from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays Jan. 15-Feb. 14, at City Hall, 201 North Davis St. Residents should see City Secretary Gale Roberts for an application packet.

Cumby City Council

Candidates may file for places on the ballot for Places 1 and 2 on Cumby City Council. Applications are available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays, Jan. 15-Feb. 14 at Cumby City Hall, 100 East Main St. Applications may also be downloaded from the Secretary of State’s website, completed, notarized and mailed to the Cumby City Hall, according to city staff.

Alderman Place 1 became open when Doug Simmerman was elected mayor in November. The Place 2 seat opened with the resignation of Kristin Thompson last fall. The council on Sept. 21 appointed Audri Mayo to the Place 2 council vacancy. The council had planned to rescind that appointment at the October meeting, but Mayo resigned first.

Sulphur Springs ISD

Candidate filing for a place on the ballot for two full-term seats on Sulphur Springs Independent School District Board of Trustees will be conducted from 8 a.m. to 4:15 p.m. weekdays, Jan. 15-Feb. 14. Applications are available in SSISD Tax Office, located in the SSISD Administration Building, 631 Connally St.

Robbin Vaughn and Robert Cody currently serve in those seats on the school board.

Yantis ISD

Candidate filing for two full 3-year seats on Yantis ISD’s Board of Trustees will be conducted from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays, Jan. 15-Feb. 14, in Yantis Middle School Building in the Administration Office, 111 South Main St.

Melissa Stephens and Jennifer McKeever currently serve in those seats.

Smiley face

Author: Faith Huffman

Share This Post On