Smiley face

2019 Colorblind Ministries Awards Reflect ‘Fruit of Spirit’ in Community Leaders

Pastor C.J. Duffey (center) with honorees

Colorblind Ministries founder and Pastor C.J. Duffey and his wife Cathey launched the Fruit of the Spirit Awards in 2016, and held the fourth annual ceremony on Saturday September 14, 2019 in the cafeteria of Sulphur Springs High School. Members of the community were selected for the honors in a spirit of love, fellowship, service and recognition, having shown the ‘fruits of the spirit’ as defined in the Bible at Galatians 5:22, 23. Recipients who were not able to attend include Kurt and Connie Cheatham of Hopkins County Food Locker for Outstanding Community Support, Dr. Lauara Kosub for Goodness Award, Pastor LaVelle Hendricks for Joy Award and The Rotary Club for Outstanding Community Support.

Musicians Charles Chaffer and Kenya Duffey Chaffer of Chaffer’s Place
Everson Walls

Program speaker was Everson Walls, a four-time Pro-Bowl player for the Dallas Cowboys, also with a stellar career with the New York Giants and Cleveland Browns as well as his college team at Grambling State. Giving back to the community and lending a helping hand holds an enduring importance to Everson, as a tribute to the assistance he received from an insightful coach at Berkner High School in Dallas. Today, Everson serves as a TV personality and commentator for various national sports talk shows and is involved with character development for young students. The Walls family attends Hamilton Park Baptist Church in Richardson and resides in Dallas. Uplifting music for the event was provided by The Chaffers; Kenya Duffey Chaffer and her husband Charles Chaffer. A banquet meal was provided by Duffey’s BBQ.

A special recognition was given to Triston Abron, a graduate and former coach at Sulphur Springs High School, recently named East Texas Coach of the Year at Paul Pewitt High School, where he has coached for two years.

In most cases, presenters are former recipients of the award they present.

Pastor Ron Smedley presents Love Award to Dr. John and Billie Cooper
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Jeff-Harris-e1568569570885.jpg
Pastor Ron Smedley presented the Love Award to Jeff and Talisa Harris

Pastor Philips Harrison received the Peace Award from presenter Hopkins County Sheriff Tatum
Arvis Tanton receives the Long-Suffering Award from Duffey
Karon Weatherman receives the Gentleness Award, presented by Enola Gay Mathews
Dr. Arneke is presented the Goodness Award. Dr. Arneke attended along with this wife Margaret and his parents.
Dr. I.L. Balkom (center) receives the Goodness Award, pictured with his wife Deborah. Presenters are Cathy Duffey (left) and C.J. Duffey, right.

Everson Walls helped present the awards for Self Control and Meekness. Deacon JD and Deaconess Gloria Franklin of Morning Chapel Baptist Church were honored with the Self Control Award.

Pastor DK and Joyce Young of Greater Emmanuel Missionary Baptist Church receive the Meekness Award, presented by Everson Walls and the Duffeys

Mike Bain, President and CEO of GSC Enterprises Inc. receives the Outstanding Community Support Award
Charlie and Melba Sickles are presented the Faith Award for their work through Fruitful Harvest Ministries
Michael and Cassie Mund of Moo-Lah Transport receive the Outstanding Community Support Award presented by members of Color Blind Ministries

Author: Enola Gay

Has enjoyed working for KSST since 1989. Hosts the Good Morning Show with Enola Gay on weekday mornings from 6-9am, so 'start your day with Enola Gay'! Guest interviews during the Morning Show can also be seen in playback on Cable Channel 18 TV. Along with local country music fan Benny Potter, co-produces 1230 West, a Country and Western Swing radio show which airs weekly on Saturdays from 7-8am and repeats on Thursdays from 7-8pm. Also writes "At the Corral Gate", a column appearing weekly in The Millennium Shopper and in the Lifestyles section of

Share This Post On