New Faces for Sulphur Springs City Council Following Election

It was a busy day for city staff and election judges as they accommodated registered voters, poll watchers, and those who thought they had lost something, like Charles Oxford, as observed while this writer waited to vote, who spent several minutes looking at and around voting machines and the judges’ table during the time others were present to vote in the City of Sulphur Springs municipal election. By early afternoon, the elevator at city hall was down and election judges were taking ballots to the first floor for those who could not climb the stairs. Elections judges were also under the watchful eye of a representative of the Texas Secretary of State Office. A request for a poll watcher was signed by 16 registered voters who questioned the integrity of the local election process.

Other than that, a larger than usual number of voters turned out to cast ballots for those who will sit in Place 1, 2, and 3 of the Sulphur Springs City Council for the next three years. Elected to Place 1Erica Armstrong with 751 votes to incumbent Craig Johnson who drew 435. Elected to Place 2, Jimmy Lucas with 657 votes to Sara Gibson’s 540. Elected to Place 3, Norman Sanders with 685 votes to Oscar Aguilar’s 509. Andy Lowen received 29 votes and Justin Davidson 42 votes even though both had withdrawn from the race.

Author: Staff Reporter

Share This Post On