Alliance Bank in Sulphur Springs

Early Voting Begins in Primary Runoff; 170 Ballots Cast on First Day

Early vote for the first day of the Primary Runoff Monday, May 14, 163 Republican and seven (7) Democrats cast ballots. A number of ballot by mail have also been sent out to those over 65 years of age who made the request, according to Hopkins County Clerk Debbie Shirley.

Early voting in the Primary Runoff Election continues 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. each day through Friday, May 18th. Early voting takes place at the Justice of the Peace Courtroom, 128 Jefferson Street in Sulphur Springs.

Tuesday, May 22 is Primary Runoff Election Day with voting places open 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. Hopkins County registered voters may cast ballots at any of the voting places on that day. Voting places will include the Lutheran Church on Texas Street, the Courthouse downtown, Morning Chapel Missionary Baptist Church on Fuller Street, and League Street Church of Christ., and Como-Pickton CISD on State Highway 11E.

Republicans are voting for nominees for Hopkins County Treasurer and Commissioner Precinct 2. Since there are not Democrat challengers, those who receive the nomination will be the only ones for those offices on the ballot in November. Democrats are voting in state runoff races only.



Author: Staff Reporter

Share This Post On