North Hopkins ISD One of 39 School Districts Seeking “Tax Swap” Ratification

Smiley face

North Hopkins is not alone in the quest to ratify a “tax swap” to benefit the local school district with additional state funds. Currently, 38 districts in Texas have either ratified or will be voting soon. Early voting in the North Hopkins ISD “tax swap” ratification that will move $0.13 from the Interest and Sinking (I&S) (debt payment) tax rate to the Maintenance and Operations (M&O) tax rate began Tuesday and continues this week. This move will not increase the total tax rate.

Only one district, Denton ISD, did not ratify the swap in their vote. Burleson ISD was the first to ratify the move in this election period. Their vote on May 6, 2017 began a domino effect for the remaining May votes that included ratification by Rice, Malone, and Eagle Pass. Among 22 that have ratified the “tax swap” are Chapel Hill, Troup, Rockdale, Port Arhur, Kountze, Springtown, Rivercrest, and others. Raymondville approved the move September 9th.

This month North Hopkins, Bryan, and Mexia school districts will vote to ratify or not. For North Hopkins the move will mean that additional money, as much as $251,000 in this school year alone,  will used for what Superintendent Darin Jolly calls  “big ticket” items including transportation fleet needs, parking improvements and expansion, energy efficiency upgrades for increased savings, and instructional needs for facility and equipment for 21st century learning.

Again, early voting by personal appearance began Tuesday, September 19, 2017 and ends October 2nd. Early voting hours are 8:00 a.m. until 2:00 p.m. each weekday and from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 pm. on October 2, 2017 at the North Hopkins ISD Secondary Office. Voting on Election Day, October 6th will be from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. in the North Hopkins ISD Administration Building Board Room, located at 1994 FM 71 W.

Smiley face

Author: Staff Reporter

Share This Post On