Smiley face

Chamber Names High School Leadership Class; Seeks Sponsors

Smiley face

The 2017-2018 High School Leadership Class, sponsored by the Hopkins County Chamber of Commerce, allows each student chosen for the program to begin a journey of practical knowledge with insight into local life beyond the classroom. This is the 24th year for the program locally. Students in the program are chosen from all county schools.

The Chamber of Commerce has facilitated this program for our county’s outstanding high school seniors. The program is free to the students who are chosen to participate. The students will participate in several classes throughout the school year including, the Ropes Challenge Course in Commerce, “Justice, Order & Politics”, “Poverty, Crisis and Cultural Sensitivity”, “Education & Tomorrow’s Opportunities”, “Ethical Decision Making”, and “Tourism and Quality of Life”.  The year-long program ends with students taking a field trip to the Dallas/Fort Worth area for a day of learning, fun, food, and fellowship, according to Lezley Brown, Chamber Executive.

This program has proven to be beneficial to the students motivating the Sulphur Springs School Board to consider the High School Leadership Class “co-curricular”. Students will not be counted absent on days they are participating in the program.

Those who have been selected for the High School Leadership Class of 2017-2018 include:
Jonathan Alvarez                      Kendall Blake                            Gracie Boyer
Spencer Brewer                        Zackery Burgin                          Shaden Burton
Ryder Caddell                           Chase Charlton                         Natalie Cruz
Peyton Dietze                           Vanessa Diosdado                     Natalee Foster
Katelynn Fryer                          Gisselle Gonzalez                       Jamia Hall
Anden Hammack                      Sarah Harper                             Montana Hatley
Delores Hughes                        Ryan Humphries                        Kaylee Jefferson
Makenna Kager                        Maggie McGlamery                     Jacie Reed
Taylor Robinson                       Chloe Ross                                Anna Sapaugh
Imani Taylor                            Samantha Vargas                       Peyton Vickery

Currently the Chamber is seeking sponsors for each student. The $125 sponsorship allows each child to complete the program at no cost to them.  Sponsor names will be printed on the backs of the students’ t-shirts.  They wear these t-shirts to every event they attend in various locations around our community and beyond. A business or organization may sponsor more than one student.

To sponsor a student, contact the Hopkins County Chamber of Commerce, 300 Connally Street, Sulphur Springs, TX 75482.  If you have any questions, please call the Chamber office at 903-885-6515.

chamber commerce

Smiley face

Author: Staff Reporter

Share This Post On