Smiley face

KSST Local Election Coverage Begins at 7 p.m.; List of Local Races/Polling Places

Local voters will be focused on various races and KSST will be your source for election returns. KSST staff will be at the Hopkins County Clerk’s Office to bring you up to the minute coverage of local election returns. KSST will begin coverage at 7 p..m.  State and national returns will also be reported at :15, :30, and :45 minutes past the hour beginning at 7:15 p.m.

In Precinct 3 of Hopkins County incumbent Republican Wade Bartley faces challenger Democrat Billy Emerson. Paris Junior College seeks to add Hopkins County to its college district, which will mean a property tax increase and lower tuition rates for county residents. School board and city races in county communities are also on the ballot. Cumby city and school board, North Hopkins School board, Miller Grove school board, and the State Board of Education. John Ratcliffe, Republican incumbent for U S Representative, District 4 has a Libertarian opponent, Cody Wommack. The Presidential election will also be a focus for tonight. State judges and Texas Railroad Commissioner round out local interest. KSST will broadcast the results as they are available as we follow the election tonight from the County Clerk’s office. Numbers will be posted on and our report will also be heard on stream and Suddenlink Cable Channel 2 and Channel 18.

Again today we remind you that if you vote a straight party ballot, you need to look at the summary page before finalizing your vote. Propositions are not included in the straight party ticket and you cannot vote again once your ballot is submitted, according to Debbie Shirley, Hopkins County Clerk. Voting in the November General Election is today from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. Fourteen voting places will be open. Hopkins County registered voters may cast ballots at any one of the 14 sites by presenting the required ID for Texas voters. All these must contain a photo: Texas driver’s license, election identification certificate, personal identification card, license to carry a handgun, US citizenship certificate, or US passport. If one does not possess and cannot reasonably obtain one of these ID’s, they can fill out a declaration at the polls explaining why and bring one of the following items: voter registration certificate, birth certificate, current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck, or government document with name and an address.

The 14 polling places include:

Lutheran Church, 1000 Texas Street

Wesley Methodist Church, 614 Texas Street

VFW on Veterans Way

Senior Citizens Building, 150 M L King Blvd

Courthouse, 118 Church Street

Grace Family Church, 1901 Loop 301 E

Civic Center, 1200 Houston St

League Street Church of Christ, 1100 South League

Saltillo ISD, 150 CR 3534 Saltillo

Cumby Municipal Bldg, 100 E Main Street Cumby

Sulphur Bluff ISD, 1027 CR 3550 Sulphur Bluff

Como-Pickton CISD, 13017 Texas Highway 11 E. Como

Miller Grove ISD, 7819 FM 275 S. Cumby

North Hopkins ISD 1994 FM 71 W

ksst logo card

Author: Staff Reporter

Share This Post On