Smiley face

District 24-A Names All-District Teams

Saltillo Boys Basketball, Lane Bench

Saltillo Boys Basketball, Lane Bench

Saltillo Lion basketball senior Lane Bench was named District 24-A Offensive Player of the Year by district coaches during a recent meeting. Jonathon Van Holten, senior, was named to first time all-district. Honorable mention honors went to Walker McGill and Matthew Gurley.

Saltillo Coach Bill Giles stated, “Individual awards represent the extra work, determination and commitment of those individuals, plus “team” accomplishments.  A last place team is not going to have an individual win a superlative award.  Our coaching staff is extremely proud of our individual accomplishments and team accomplishments.”

Yantis Owl Logan Glenn, a senior, was named Defensive Player of the Year. Also named all district from a Hopkins County area school, Brennon Seymore, Sulphur Bluff sophomore and Yantis sophomores Jayden Modrall and Bradley Potts. Second team from Sulphur Bluff, sophomore Joe Forshee and junior Jaden Goldsmith. Yantis Owl junior Lucas Cerretani was also named to second team.

For the Lady Lions, Paula Boekhorst and Haylee Clover, seniors, were named Most Valuable Player for District 24-A Girls. Saltillo Junior Ana Gallegos was named Offensive Player of the Year for the district. Lady Lions Melissa Goenewold, sophomore, and Rainie English, junior, were named to First Team.

Second Team members were Tori Mobley, sophomore, and Madison Simmons, sophomore.

Yantis Lady Owls’ Bayley Bush was named Defensive Player of the Year and Yantis Freshman Montana Wetzel was named Newcomer of the Year. Yantis players Ashton Burnett, Freshman, and Morgan McMinn, junior were named to first time. On second team for the Owls was Kayla Brown, sophomore.

Sulphur Bluff freshman Kaitlyn White was named to first team all-district and freshman Makenna Morgan along with senior Skylar Evans were named to second team all-district.

Author: Staff Reporter

Share This Post On