Smiley face

25th Annual Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Ceremony

Smiley face

On Monday, January 18, 2016, 7 pm, The East Caney Missionary Baptist Church and Hopkins County African American Leadership Conference presented the 25th Annual Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Ceremony. The keynote speaker was The Honorable Judge Morris Overstreet, former judge, Texas Criminal Appellate Court. Dr. Dan Jones, President/CEO of Texas A&M-Commerce once again served as master of ceremony. The program was held at the Morning Chapel Missionary Baptist Church, 208 Fuller Street. The public was invited to this free event. Refreshments after the program were provided by Alliance Bank and Wal Mart.
Program personalities include: Tom Sellers, Dr. Dan Jones, Representative Dan Flynn, Judge Robert Newsome, W.C. Pryor, and Pastor H.B. Nash. Cordell and Jackie Jackson, co-chair the ceremony committe. Dr. M. LaVelle Hendricks, is President and committe members are Yvonne Thornton and W. C. Pryor.
Those who received awards include:
The 2016 Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Award Recipients:
Spiritual- Liz Barrett
Freedom Award- Clyde Alexander
Spirit of Loyalty- Lucinda Harris and Carmen Timmons
Spirit of Dependability- Elaine Harrison
Social Change- Jerrika Dabbs -Wilkins
Mother of the Year- Della Cleveland
Father of the Year- Cordell Jackson
Legacy of King- Ricky Godbolt
Spirit of Service- Rhonda Porter
Spirit of Fellowship- William “Bill” Simmons
Achievement Awards:
Curtis Peoples, Bodie Sims, Clarine Moore, Gloria Franklin, Betty Hall Dial, Nikki Simmons, Monica Goodson, Selena Givens, Merita Wade, Melaunda Person
King’s Kids- Denise Wright-King
Choice of Excellence- Johanna Clayton and Zach Spigner
Youth of the Year- Mel Roy Givens and Jatavion Hall
Family of the Year- Roy and Yvonne King
Music- Jo Ann Johnson
Church of the Year- East Caney Missionary Baptist Church
Political Award- Judge Eddie Northcutt
Encouragement- Lisa Reed
Evangelism Award- Ernest Gassaway
Faithfulness- Parcel Lewis
MLK Media- Don Julian
Commitment Award- Trelanudra Duffey
Employer of The Year- V F Outlet
Employees of the Year: Consuelo Lewis Neal and Mary Taylor-Jackson
Law Enforcement- Jason Ames, Amanda Weatherford, Tyler Fransis
Spirit of Dedication- Ryan Harrison
Pastor of The Year- Pastor Mack Barrett, Sr.
Spirit of Commitment- Deacon Dewayne Harris and Mary Jackson Taylor
Fraternity of The Year- Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc
Sorority of The Year- Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
MLK Man of the Year- Deacon Wilbert Roland
MLK Woman of the Year- Demetra Robinson
Hannah Wall, Von’tese Johnson, Cory Bennett, Xavier Cork, Khalob Wilkins,
Kaidence Johnson, Kevin Byrd, Acie Simmons, Hitomi Simmons
Taryn Driver, Jametrya Walker, Gabrielle Vaughn
Kassie Smith, Kati Adair, Alison Thompson, Holly Thompson, Karen Anderson, Kim Gillem, Tim Thomas, Laura Smith, James Eilts, Lane Doughtie, Stephanie Garner, Elizabeth Moss, and Jennifer Roberts
Joyce Moore, Sarah Edwards, Clarine Moore, Dwight Clayton, David Miller, Walmart, Joyce Young

Smiley face

Author: Staff Reporter

Share This Post On
bobcat tractor

Bobcat of North Texas Wants You to Know...

Now is the time to invest in a Bobcat® Compact Tractor at Bobcat of North Texas. As the economy continues to expand, construction and construction equipment is in high demand and Bobcat® promises to be at the heart of it all. Demand for Bobcat® equipment is at an all time high, and we want to make sure you get the equipment and attachments you need to make your land your own.

bobcat loader
bobcat loader
bobcat loader
Construction is Booming

Bobcat® equipment is legendary and construction companies know it. Thats why we are taking orders months in advance. We don't want you to fall behIind the competition. Contact us today to get your Bobcat of North Texas order placed.