Sulphur Springs High School One Act Play Wins District

March 22, 2024 – The Sulphur Springs High School Theatre Department, with their 2024 UIL One Act Play, earned District Champions! They received first place for their performance of Failure: A Love Story from all three judges! Individual awards included: Aspen Mayhew as “Outstanding Performer”, Aiden Woodard and Talley Brown as “All Star Cast”, Oliver Falter earned “Honorable Mention ASC”, and Sebastion Hernandez earned “All Star Crew”.

In an earlier story on, it was mentioned that the One Act Play was performed for the general public on March 3, 2024, at the Sulphur Springs High School Auditorium.

The earlier story in question also talks about what the play is about. The story: By the end of 1928, all three Fail sisters will be dead — expiring in reverse order, youngest to oldest, from blunt object to the head, disappearance, and finally consumption. A whimsical chorus follows the story of Nelly (Senior Caroline Prickette), Jenny June (Junior Aspen Mayhew), and Gerty (Senior Talley Brown) as they live out their lives above the family clock repair shop near the Chicago River, before their time unexpectedly runs out. A magical fable where, in the end, the power of love is far greater than any individual’s successes or failures.

The previous story about the One Act Play pointed out that Failure also stars Seniors Addison Bradley, Jolene Reed, and Oliver Falter, Junior Aiden Woodard, Sophomores Nathan Bilyeu, Emma Boatman, and Conner Curtis, and Freshman Lizi Green. Crew members include Freshman stage manager Bella Gilbreath, Senior Kaela Gardner, Junior Audrey Tanton, and Freshmen Sunni Vanderburg, Haley Hopkins, and Sebastion Hernandez.

KSST, in our Salute to Excellence, would like to take this opportunity to congratulate the Sulphur Springs High School Theatre Department on this great achievement! Stay tuned for further developments on this great group of kids and their One Act Play.

Failure: A Love Story Poster Trimmed
Failure: A Love Story Poster

Author: Matt Janson

Share This Post On