Julian Files Candidacy For Place 1 In Sulphur Springs City Council Election

Jay W. Julian Wednesday filed candidacy for Place 1 on Sulphur Springs City Council. Julian currently serves in the seat. He was elected in December, coming out ahead of Mark Bradley in a runoff election last month for the remaining months of the unexpired term. Julian is now seeking a full 3-year term on the City Council.

Jay W. Julian

The Place 1 seat was one of four on the 2020 ballot due to the resignations of four council members in December of 2019. The City Council Election was to be held in spring 2020, but due to COVID-19 was postponed until November 2020. A runoff election was called between Julian and Mark Bradley after no one candidate received 50 percent or more of the votes in the Nov. 3, 2020 election for Place 1. Julian won the December 2020 runoff with 55.45 percent of the votes cast.

Councilman Julian is the third candidate to file candidacy in the May 1, 2021 City Council Election. Gary Spraggins and Harold Nash Sr. filed candidacy Wednesday morning for reelection to their seats on the council.

Spraggins was elected in November to serve one year of the unexpired Place 5 seat and is seeking the remaining year of of that term. Nash Sr. was appointed in December 2019 to Place 2 on the council, and drew no opponent in the Nov. 3, 2020 election for Place 2.

As of 12:45 p.m. Jan. 13, no candidates had yet filed for Place 3 on the City Council; Oscar Aguilar drew no opponent in the 2020 election for the remaining year in the Place 3 seat.

Candidate filing for Places 1, 2, 3 and 5 on the May 1, 2021 Sulphur Springs City Council Election ballot continues during regular business hours, 8-5 p.m. Monday-Friday, Jan. 13-Feb. 12, at Sulphur Springs Municipal Building, 201 North Davis St. Applications may be mailed to 125 South Davis St. Places 1, 2 and 3 are for a full 3-year term on the City Council each. Place 5 is for a 1-year term.

Author: KSST Contributor

Share This Post On