Spraggins Wins Place 5, Runoff For Place 1 On Sulphur Springs City Council

Lackey, Hardy Elected to Cumby City Council

Two new aldermen were elected to Cumby City Council and one new council member to Sulphur Springs City Council in the Nov. 3 elections. Another seat on the Sulphur Springs council appears to be headed to a runoff. Cumby voters also approved Proposition A Tuesday.

Cumby voters elected Sheryl Lackey to Alderman, Place 1, and Amber Hardy to Alderman, Place 2, on the City Council.

Lackey received a total of 124 votes, placing her just ahead of Wayne Mobley with 52.54 percent of the ballots cast. Mobley received 112 votes or 46.46 percent of the ballots cast in the Nov. 3 City Council Election for Place 1.

Amber Hardy received 133 votes, giving her 60.45 percent of the overall ballots cast for Place 2 on the council. Audri Mayo received 87 votes, for a total of 39.55 percent overall.

Doug Simmerman was unchallenged in his bid for Cumby mayor. He received 214 votes.

Cumby voters also approved Proposition A, which reauthorizes the city to collect a local sale and use tax of 1/4th of 1 percent to fund maintenance and repair of municipal streets.

In Sulphur Springs, Gary Spraggins received 3,206 votes and Ricardo Chavarria 1,294. That 71.24 percent ensured Spraggins the win for Place 5 on the City Council.

Jay W. Julian lead in the Place 1 Sulphur Springs City Council with 1,943 votes, or 43.67 percent of the votes. Mark Bradley finished second with 1,095 votes (24.61 percent), Vanessa Diosdado third with 1,012 votes (22.775 percent) and Justin M. Brown received 399 votes (8.97 percent).

Since none of the candidates for Place 5 received 50 percent or more of the vote, it appears the Place 1 race for Sulphur Springs City Council is heading toward a run-off election between Julian and Bradley.

Also on the Sulphur Springs City Council special election ballot were Harold Nash Sr. for Place 2 and Oscar Aguilar for Place 3. Neither drew a challenger. Nash received 4,242 votes and Aguilar 4,437 votes.

Author: KSST Contributor

Share This Post On