Smiley face

SSISD Board Celebrates Academic Accomplishments During May Meeting

Sulphur Springs School Board honored Peyton Dietze, Valedictorian of the Class of 2018 and Sarah Harper, Salutatorian of the Class, heard reports from various educational programs including Academic UIL achievements,  reorganized the board, and conducted routine business during Tuesday night’s regular May session.

Incumbents Jason Dietze and Kerry Wright were given the oath of office for a three-year term. Neither candidate had an opponent for their place on the board. Robbin Vaughn was elected President, Robert Cody, Vice-President, and Clay Johnson, Secretary for the 2018-2019 year.

The board approved the purchase of a pickup for the SSISD Security Department and for equipment to update access control systems at Travis Primary and the Douglas campuses. They renewed contract service agreements with Region VIII Education Service Center and received a report on the 2018-2019 Head Start Self-Assessment Program Improvement Plan.

Updates on spring elementary, middle school, and high school Academic UIL and a presentation on Instructional Technology shared with the board gave an overview of the school year ending. Superintendent Michael Lamb presented the board a report on field trips during the current school year. The trips taken on all levels were primarily academic in nature although some field trips were rewards for student accomplishment.

Lamb’s report on the first round of 5th and 8th grad STAAR test scores showed improvement for the students over past STAAR tests. The comparison was made on previous scores by the same students at prior grade levels. The comparison of improvements was based on comparisons with state averages for the specific age group.

At the Early Childhood Learning Center (ECLC), 232 students, which is 76% of Kindergarten and Transitional Fisrt Grade are reading .


Author: Staff Reporter

Share This Post On