A “Salute to Excellence” For All Area Graduates of the Class of 2018!

The staff of KSST, Channel 18 TV and ksstradio.com salute the hard work and commitment to excellence that graduates of the area schools have shown as they prepare for their big day, graduation. It is our privilege to congratulate them and wish them unlimited success!


There are 50 senior classmen who will receive diplomas at Como-Pickton High School graduation in the Eagles’ Heflin Field on Friday May 25 at 7:30pm. (in case of rain, in secondary cafeteria)  High School Valedictorian is Y’Asandra Preciado and Salutatorian is Hannah Anderson.  Como-Pickton Jr. Hi graduation is Thursday May 24 at 6pm in the secondary cafeteria. Out of 49 graduates, Kira Lange and Sandra Tran had top GPA scores.

Twenty-three North Hopkins students will cross the stage in the Panthers high school gym on Saturday May 26 at 3pm. Record-setting top students are twins; Rachel Stanley, Valedictorian and Samuel Stanley, Salutatorian.

Saltillo ISD will hold Commencement in Kerry Garmon Gym on Friday May 25 at 7pm with 17 students receiving diplomas. Guadalupe Olayo is Valedictorian and Sylvia Feijen is Salutatorian. The Saltillo 8th grade class will graduate on Thursday at 7pm in Kerry Garmon Gym.

The Sulphur Bluff Class of 2018 will walk for their diplomas on Friday May 25 at 6:30 pm in Bears Gym. There are fourteen graduating seniors. Taking top honors and making school history are co-valedictorians Turner South and Karlie Self.

The new Hornets Gym will host Commencement for Miller Grove High School on Friday May 25 at 7pm. Leading the class of 21 graduating seniors are Valedictorian Kaleigh Poteet and Salutatorian Nora Resindiz. Miller Grove Junior High will hold graduation on Thursday at 7pm with Jacob George and Isaiah Billingsley at the top of the 8th grade class.

Cumby ISD is proud to present Lauren Hudson as class Valedictorian. Lauren also graduated Summa Cum Laude from PJC with an Associate of Arts Degree in Education.  Ashley Hagood is Salutatorian of the Cumby Trojans Class of 2018. Commencement will be held at Texas A and M University in Commerce of Friday May 25 at 7pm.

Sulphur Springs ISD has 259 students who will be handed their diplomas on Friday May 25  at 8pm in the Hopkins County Civic Center. (the location was changed from Prim Stadium) Peyton Deitze is Valedictorian and Sarah Harper is Salutatorian of the Wildcats Class of 2018.

Mt. Vernon ISD will hold Commencement in Don Meredith Stadium at 8pm on Friday May 25 for 104 graduating seniors. Top students are Rachel Asay and Sydni Steen.

Twenty-four Yantis Owls will cross the stage for their diplomas on Saturday June 2 at 6pm in the Yantis High School Gym. Jazlyn Jenkins and Samantha Swasso top their class in GPA scores.




Author: Enola Gay

Share This Post On