Smiley face

SSHS Academic UIL Place Second at Lindale Invitational

Smiley face

Academic University Interscholastic League (UIL) season has begun for Sulphur Springs High School. One student competed in the State UIL Congress Competition and a number of academic competitors participated in the Lindale UIL Invitational last weekend.

State – UIL Congress Competition

Noah Hammons and Coach Kayla Weir traveled to Austin, TX for UIL State Congress Competition. Noah made some excellent speeches and was noticed by several judges but was unable to advance to finals.

Lindale UIL Invitational Meet

The SSHS Wildcat UIL Academic Team finished 2nd place overall this past Friday and Saturday, January 12 – 13, at the Lindale Winter UIL Invitational meet. The following students or teams brought home awards in their events.


Number Sense Bracken Sant 1st Place
(Gerald Grafton – Coach) Kendall Little 4th Place
  Number Sense Team

Bracken Sant

Kendall Little

Andrew Westlund

1st Place Team
Mathematics Kendall Little 3rd Place
(Gerald Grafton – Coach)
Current Events Brandon Hodges 4th Place
(Madison Millsap – Coach) Current Events Team

Brandon Hodges

Vanessa Diosdado

Chase Charlton

2nd Place Team
Ready Writing Annemarie Gunn 3rd Place
(Gail Herman – Coach) Brianna Wooten 4th Place
Lainey Whittle 6th Place
Spelling Chase Charlton 1st Place
(Gail Herman – Coach) Sarah Harper 2nd Place
Gisselle Garcia 3rd Place
Spelling Team

Chase Charlton

Sarah Harper

Gisselle Garcia

1st Place Team

(Paula Hass – Coach)

Caleb Yanez


5th Place
Computer Science Brayden Fisher 1st Place
(Matt Wilder – Coach) Joshua Rissman 4th Place
Nathan Tiegiser 5th Place
Computer Science Team

Brayden Fisher

Joshua Rissman

Nathan Tiegiser

1st Place Team
Social Studies Brandon Hodges 1st Place
(Madison Millsap – Coach) Leif Thomas 3rd Place
Social Studies Team

Brandon Hodges

Leif Thomas

Vanessa Diosdado

Alex Plumley

1st Place Team
Literary Criticism Chase Charlton 1st Place
(Gail Herman – Coach) Lainey Whittle 3rd Place
Sarah Harper 5th Place
Literary Criticism Team

Sarah Harper

Chase Charlton

Lainey Whittle

1st Place Team
Lincoln-Douglas Debate Corban Philo 3rd Place
(Kayla Weir – Coach)
Poetry Jaci Reed 3rd Place
(Lesha Woodard – Coach)
Prose Sarah Harper 3rd Place
(Lesha Woodard – Coach) Rachel Bramlett 4th Place
Other Notable Result – Corban Philo advanced to semifinal rounds in Informative Speaking.



Smiley face

Author: Staff Reporter

Share This Post On