Smiley face

County Schools Cross Country Teams Honored in Proclamations

In what is becoming an annual event, Hopkins County Judge Robert Newsom recognized the excellence of cross country running in the county on the steps of the County Courthouse Monday morning. Judge Newsom read proclamations honoring girls Class 1A state champion Jorja Bessonett, runner up Sienna Collins of Saltillo, Class 1A second place girls’ team Miller Grove, Class 1A state champion boys team Miller Grove, boys team runner up Saltillo and fourth best boys team Sulphur Bluff. The state cross country meet took place November 4 at Old Settlers Park in Round Rock.

The six proclamations urge all Hopkins County citizens to congratulate the athletes for their accomplishments. Before proclamations were read, one of the county’s foremost runners, District Judge Eddie Northcutt, praised the athletes for making it to the state meet and then for doing so well when they got there. He said he encouraged Judge Newsom to recognize Miller Grove, Saltillo and Sulphur Bluff. It was noted that the fourth in state finish by Sulphur Bluff was the highest finish for any team sport in school history.

Members of the State Champion Miller Grove boys team are Kobe Robertson, Albert Serrano, Luke Brignon, Grant Earp, Grant Sharp, Matthew Brignon and Andre Treyton. The second place Saltillo boys team includes Trevor, Moore, Walker McGill, Hendrick Rios, Branson McGill, Dillon Beadle, Lyle Bench and Matthew Gurley. Members of the fourth place Sulphur Bluff boys team are Turner, South, Montana Hurley, Ishmael Wade, Trayton South, Shane Johnson and Jonathan Brown. The second place Miller Grove girls team includes Jorga Bessonett, Lauren Bullard, Jolee Fox, Cassidy Seaney, Alexa Pelerosa and Katie Williams.

Author: Staff Reporter

Share This Post On