Smiley face

PJC Proposition Fails; Bartley Re-elected; Heavy Republican Turnout

Republican voters carried the day in Hopkins County. Republican straight party voting carried the day with 80% of straight ballot voting or 6,784 ballots to the Democratic Party 1,749 straight ticket voters.Much of the local focus was on Commissioner Precinct 3, three local school boards, and one county and one city proposition.

Republican incumbent Wade Bartley was re-elected Commissioner Precinct 3 as he defeated challenger Democrat Billy Emerson. Bartley received 2,075 votes or 65% of the vote and Emerson received 1,124 votes or 35%.

With totals reported, the Proposition that would add Hopkins County to the Paris Junior College District has failed 7,164 against (70%) to 3,126 for (30%).

City of Cumby quarter cent sales tax proposition passed with 69% for and 31% against. Cumby ISD voters elected Tony Aguilar with 322 votes, Jason G. Hudson with 369 votes, and Jody Jarvis with 297 votes to the school board.


North Hopkins ISD voters elected Charley Vaughn with 280 votes, Jim Westbrook with 282 votes and Vicki Ferrell with 232 votes. Miller Grove ISD voters elected Eric Mabe with 269 votes, Douglas Hall with 247 votes, Clark May with 204 votes and John Derek Wilbur with 179 votes.

Donald J. Trump carried Hopkins County with over 10,000 votes.

In the state school board District 9 race, Republican Keven M. Ellis received over 10,000 votes or 75% of the vote in this county.


Author: Staff Reporter

Share This Post On