Wright Resignation Accepted, Johnson Appointed In Tuesday School Board Meeting


Enrollment in Sulphur Springs Schools has increased over all and as of Friday, September 2, 4,415 students are of on the roll according to Superintendent Michael Lamb, who gave a report on district-wide student enrollment to the SSISD Board during their September regular session. The Board also accepted the resignation of longtime board member, Kerry Wright.

With much reluctance, the Board accepted Mr. Wright’s resignation. “I don’t have to be a part of the board to continue to serve the district,” explained Kerry Wright. The nomination of Clay Johnson, previous board member, was then accepted.

Consideration regarding the approval of the extracurricular status of 4-H in connection with the Ag-Extension Office and the district took place and was accepted. Discussion and consideration to the approval of authorizing the acquisition of the Technology Center located next to the Sulphur Springs High School was discussed and accepted.

The Sulphur Springs School Board held their first meeting since the start of the school year on Tuesday, September 6th in the Board Room. The Pledge to the American Flag was led by SSMS students Jillian Jumper and Campbell Smith. ECLC T-1 students Peyton and Colton Mercer, Camilla Perez, Kayla Slaughter, and Samantha Smith then led the Pledge to the Texas Flag.



Hailey Tucker                          SpEd Aide                               Douglas

New Personnel

John Wilder                             Math Teacher                          High School


The Board participated in required “Team of 8” training, conducted by Region 8 staff.

Author: Staff Reporter

Share This Post On