Alliance Bank in Sulphur Springs

New JP’s and County Judge Sworn In

Eight Hopkins County elected officials received the oath of office during a swearing-in ceremony on News Year’s Day at 10 a.m. in the District Courtroom in the County Courthouse.  A ninth official, County Court-at-Law Judge Amy Smith will be sworn-in on Monday.  County Judge Robert Newsom presided.

County Commissioner for Precinct 4 Danny Evans was sworn-in by Judge Newsom.  County Commissioner for Precinct 2 Mike Odell was sworn-in by retiring JP, Precinct 1 Yvonne King.  New JP for Precinct 1 B.J. Teer received the oath of office from Judge King.  New JP for Precinct 2 Brad Cummings was sworn-in by retiring JP Ronny Glossup.  Longtime County Clerk Debbie Shirley was sworn by Judge Newsom.  New District Clerk Cheryl Fulcher received the oath of office from District Judge Eddie Northcutt.  New County Treasurer Jim Thompson was sworn-in by Judge Northcutt.  Judge Newsom received the oath of office from Judge Northcutt.  Some people bring special Bibles for the swearing-in.  Judge Northcutt explained the significance of the Bible that is available for others to use.

Brad Cummings, JP 2

courtroom judge

courtroom judge

BJ Teer, JP 1

Judge Robert Newsom, Hopkins County Judge





Share This Post On